Bill Young

  • Title
    Defensive Coordinator, Defensive Line
  • Email
  • Phone

Bill Young is in his fourth season in his second stint as an assistant coach at The University of Tulsa. He was appointed defensive coordinator and defensive line coach for the Golden Hurricane on January 8, 2015.
In his first stop at Tulsa, Young was an assistant coach for five seasons (1980-84) under John Cooper. He coached the defensive line all five years and served as Tulsa’s defensive coordinator from 1983-84. He then made the move with Cooper to Arizona State.
Young’s career has spanned more than 48 years at the high school, collegiate, and professional levels. He has served as the defensive coordinator at prominent college football programs like Ohio State (1988–1995), Oklahoma (1996–1997), USC (1998–2000), Miami (2008), and Oklahoma State (2009–2012). Young has coached in 22 bowl games throughout his collegiate career.
The Hurricane defensive unit improved significantly from year one to year two under Young’s leadership, by holding opponents to 10.0 points and 110.1 yards fewer than in his first season.
Young returned to the Tulsa sidelines in 2015 following one season as head football coach at Yukon High School. He spent the 2013 season as the defensive quality control coordinator at Wyoming.
Young, who graduated from Oklahoma State in 1968, returned to OSU as defensive coordinator in 2009 for four seasons (2009-12). The Cowboys compiled a 20-5 record in Big 12 play from 2009-12, the best of all Big 12 teams during that span. OSU won a share of the Big 12 South title in 2010 and won the Big 12 outright in 2011. The Cowboys appeared in and won their first-ever BCS bowl game in 2011 with a victory over Stanford in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.
With Young coordinating, the Oklahoma State defense was the nation's most opportunistic from 2010-11, as the Cowboys forced an NCAA-best 78 turnovers over those two seasons. OSU led the nation with 44 turnovers forced in 2011 and was fifth with 34 in 2010. Oklahoma State also led the nation in turnover margin and fumbles recovered and ranked second in the nation in passes intercepted in 2011. OSU led the Big 12 in scoring defense for conference games and was 12th nationally in red zone defense.
Young served the 2008 season as defensive coordinator at Miami (Fla.). Prior to his one year at Miami, Young was part of the major turnaround at Kansas, where he was the defensive coordinator for six seasons (2002-07). The 2007 Jayhawks finished the year ranked No. 4 nationally in scoring defense and 12th in total defense as KU won the Orange Bowl.
Young spent three years coaching the defensive line at Arizona State (1985-87) before three straight stints as a defensive coordinator – Ohio State (1988-95), Oklahoma (1996-97) and USC (1998-2000). While at USC, Young's defenders led the Pac-10 in total defense and were second nationally in takeaways. Young also coached the defensive line for the Detroit Lions in 2001.
Young coached six years in the Oklahoma High School ranks, coaching at Carl Albert one year and five seasons at Putnam City West, before returning to his alma mater, Oklahoma State. Young coached the offensive and defensive lines from 1976 through 1978 at OSU. He spent the 1979 season at Iowa State as defensive tackles coach before moving to Tulsa in 1980.
As a player, Young was an outside linebacker and defensive end at Oklahoma State. He was a three-year starter and an academic All-Big Eight honoree. He received OSU's outstanding football award in 1967, when he was also named honorable mention all-conference.
Born in Hereford, Texas, Young attended Grant High School in Oklahoma City. He earned a bachelor's degree in education at Oklahoma State in 1968 and a master's degree in education at Central Oklahoma in 1971.
His wife, Lawana, is a native Oklahoman. 
Alma Mater: Oklahoma State ‘68
Birthdate: August 17, 1946
Hometown: Oklahoma City, Okla.
Playing Experience: Was a three-year starter at Oklahoma State as an outside linebacker/defensive end (1965-67).
Bowl Games as a Coach
1976           Tangerine Bowl (Oklahoma State)
1985           Holiday Bowl (Arizona State)
1986           Rose Bowl (Arizona State)
1987           Freedom Bowl (Arizona State)
1989           Hall of Fame Bowl (Ohio State)
1990           Liberty Bowl (Ohio State)
1991           Hall of Fame Bowl (Ohio State)
1992           Citrus Bowl (Ohio State)         
1993           Holiday Bowl (Ohio State)
1994           Citrus Bowl (Ohio State)         
1995           Citrus Bowl (Ohio State)         
1998           Sun Bowl (USC)
2003           Tangerine Bowl (Kansas)
2005           Fort Worth Bowl (Kansas)
2007           Orange Bowl (Kansas)
2008           Emerald Bowl (Miami)
2009           Cotton Bowl (Oklahoma State)
2010           Alamo Bowl (Oklahoma State)
2011           Tostitos Fiesta Bowl (Oklahoma State)
2012           Heart of Texas Bowl (Oklahoma State)
2015       Camping World Independence Bowl (Tulsa)
2016       Miami Beach Bowl (Tulsa)