Dexter McCoil on Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Dexter McCoil was one of 35 preseason Watch List selections named to the Jim Thorpe Award today.

July 13, 2012

Oklahoma City, Okla. - One day after being named to the preseason Watch List for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, University of Tulsa senior Dexter McCoil was one of 35 preseason Watch List selections to the Jim Thorpe Award.

The Jim Thorpe Award is given to the best defensive back in college football. This year's list includes 35 of the top defensive backs in the country representing 11 conferences.

McCoil and Houston's D.J. Hayden, UCF's Kemal Ishmael and Deron Wilson of Southern Miss represent Conference USA on the preseason watch list.

McCoil had 84 tackles, seven pass break-ups and six interceptions for 131 yards in 13 starts last year for the 8-5 Golden Hurricane. He earned second-team all-C-USA honors and was named the Tulsa MVP of the Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl. In that game against BYU, McCoil totaled 10 tackles, two interceptions for 37 yards and one pass break-up.

A three-year letterwinner and starter, McCoil has played in 37 career games and has started 30 contests. He has tallied 225 career tackles, 16 pass break-ups and 13 interceptions, while totaling double-figure tackles in six career games. McCoil's 13 pick-offs ties the school's all-time interception record.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The 2012 Olympics mark the 100-year anniversary of Thorpe winning gold in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm Olympics.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-40 players each year. The list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6, 2012 on ESPN.

2012 JIM THORPE AWARD PRESEASON WATCH LIST Johnny Adams, Michigan State CB, Sr. Jahleel Addae, Central Michigan S, Jr. Ricardo Allen, Purdue CB, Jr. David Amerson, North Carolina State CB, Jr. Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State CB, Sr. C.J. Barnett, Ohio State S, Jr. John Boyett, Oregon S, Sr. Chad Boyd, Louisiana Tech, S, Sr. Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State CB, Sr. Travis Carrie, Ohio University CB, Sr. Jonathan Cyprien, Florida International S, Sr. Matt Elam, Florida S, Jr. D.J. Hayden, Houston CB, Sr. Jarred Holley, Pittsburgh S, Sr. Kemal Ishmael, Central Florida S, Sr. Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma S, Jr. Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State S, Jr. Robert Lester, Alabama S, Sr. Isaiah Lewis, Michigan State S, Jr. Nigel Malone, Kansas State CB , Sr. Tyrann Mathieu, Louisiana State S, Jr. Dexter McCoil, Tulsa S, Sr. T.J. McDonald, Southern California S, Sr. Leon McFadden, San Diego State CB, Sr. Dayonne Nunley, Miami (OH) CB, Jr. Jordan Poyer, Oregon State CB, Sr. Eric Reid, Louisiana State S, Jr. Xavier Rhodes, Florida State CB, Jr. Nickell Robey, Southern California CB, Jr. Logan Ryan, Rutgers CB, Jr. Johnnie Simon, Western Michigan S, Jr. Hakeem Smith, Louisville S, Jr. Brynden Trawick, Troy S, Sr. Kenny Vaccaro, Texas S, Sr. Deron Wilson, Southern Mississippi CB, Jr.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned